Perth restaurant, cafe & bar reviews

On this page you’ll find a list of all my Perth restaurant reviews. Not everything written is a recommendation, all blog posts are based on burger boy and I’s experience so have a read and try for yourself.  There’s also lots of restaurants, bars and cafes where I love but haven’t had time to write a full blog post about, check out my Top 5 Perth Eats or follow me on facebook / twitter / instagram to hear about these.

There’s also a page dedicated to Perth foodie news and events submitted by Perth foodie businesses – check it out to find out What’s on in Perth.

burger bars

Alfred’s Kitchen, great for a late snack by the bon fire – go here for a real burger, Guildford
Burger Bistro, alcoholic drinks avail, Leederville
Butty’s Food Truck, go the Original Ribs Burger
Flipside Burgers, delivers up to Mechanic Inc, love the chips, Northbridge
Jus Burgers blog post coming soon
Missy Moos, gourmet burgers using WA produce, Mt Hawthorn & South Freo
Novembar’s, more take-away but love the fat boy challenge novelty, Dianella

bars, pubs and bistros

When burger boy and I just want a casual drink / good feed.

Amani Wine Bar, the tapas are great here, Leederville
Baby Mammoth, 2013 December Top 5 Perth Eats, Northbridge
Bar de Halcyon, pintxos bar, Perth CBD
Belgian Beer Cafe, I went here for my work birthday lunch one year, Perth CBD
Carnegies, half price Wednesday cocktails – where burger boy and I became an item, Perth CBD
Cheeky Sparrow, cool laneway bar – gets pretty tight on Friday nights, Perth CBD
Devilles Pad, Cabaret / Cocktail bar serving American snack food, Northbridge
Ezra Pound, very chilled Laneway Bar, love the jam jars, Northbridge
Five Bar, for drinks and snacks, Mount Lawley
Frisk Small Bar, for drinks & cocktails, Northbridge
Hula Bula Bar, cocktails, Perth CBD
Inglewood Hotel, love the chicken parmigiana here, Inglewood
Kingsway Bar & Bistro, wouldn’t go here unless I was invited for an occasion, Kingsway
Mechanics Inc, love this roof top bar, perfect place to chill with a drink & enjoy a flipside burger, Northbridge
Metro Bar and Bistro, for a farewell work lunch, Perth CBD
Mundaring Hotel, Mundaring
Public House Bar & Kitchen, a new bar serving South American food in the east end of the Perth CBD
Rose & Crown Hotel, like the drinks/atmosphere, didn’t enjoy the food, Guildford
The Aviary’s Bird Cage Restaurant, Perth CBD
The Boheme, I like their lunch menu, Perth CBD
The Brook, only went here once when they first opened, a bit pricey but good for the locals, Ellenbrook
The Byrneleigh Hotel, Nedlands
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel, newly refurbished with a beautiful local menu as created by Russell Blaikie, Cottesloe
The Generous Squire, just another pub, pumping on Friday nights, Perth CBD
The George, love the weekday lunch specials, Perth CBD
The Merrywell, American food in the Crown Casino, they don’t take bookings, Burswood
The Mighty Quinn Tavern, super casual ok food ok drinks, good for a local, Tuart Hill
The Precinct, impressive drinks list, Victoria Park
The Stables Bar, love the panfried gnocchi here, Perth CBD
Windsor Hotel, love the chilled out atmosphere, South Perth
Wolf Lane, my old after work joint on a Friday night, Perth CBD

breakfast and brunch options

Chik & Kent, loved the brunch here – bit random but has an Indian fusion lunch and dinner menu too, Perth CBD 
Greenhouse
, fab service – watch the stockings in Winter ladies, Perth CBD
Little Sisto, such a cool cafe in the middle of suburbia – May Top 5 Perth Eats, Doubleview
Mary Street Bakery, red velvet cupcake and donuts were great, Mount Lawley
Miss Kitty’s Saloon, American breakfast with an Aussie twist, Inglewood
Panache, organic, gluten free & raw foods, Perth CBD
Piccos Kitchen, July & August 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Maylands
Stimulatte, loved their cream cheese & bacon bagel, Subiaco
Toast, they do pancakes & crepes and coffee well, East Perth
Typika Artisan Roasters, July & August 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Claremont
West End Deli, for somewhere a bit more special/fancy, West Perth
Wild Fig, breakfast/casual dining (now in Scarborough)

buffets

Hyatt Cafe, all you can eat brunch, East Perth

chinese food – usually for dim sum or banquets

Chinese Northbridge Restaurant, authentic Chinese, great for banquets & dim sum, Northbridge
Dragon Palace, authentic Chinese, great for banquets & dim sum, Northbridge
Golden Century, Dim Sum, Northbridge
Good Fortune, 2014 January Top 5 Perth Eats, Northbridge
Good One BBQ, 2013 December Top 5 Perth Eats, Victoria Park
Little Lamb, Chinese buffet, Northbridge
New Moon, my new fav for dim sum, Northbridge
Noodle Forum, Perth City
The Wang’s Treasure House, where all the Chinese chefs go for Dim Sum, Morley
Wembley Dim Sum, September 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Wembley

cafes for coffee or lunch

Basilica, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Sweetly Spiced, Perth CBD
Bench Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Frank, Perth CBD
Bocelli’s Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Frost, Perth CBD
BossMan, partly owned by my fav baristas at LowDown Espresso, Mount Lawley
Cafe Cafe, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger tastebuddy, Subiaco
Cafe Vinyl, 24 days of coffee review, Perth CBD
Castro
, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Frank, Perth CBD
Cravings Cafe, 24 days of coffee review, East Perth
Del Basso Smallgoods, December 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Osborne Park
Epic Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger tastebuddy, West Perth
Essence of Coffee Pier Street, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Frank, Perth CBD
Foam, Leederville Food Safari - Riding Rickshaws, Leederville
House of Honey, Swan Valley
Infinity, 24 days of coffee review, East Perth
Little Willys, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Mahara, Northbridge
Lowdown Espresso Bar, best muffins, coffee and service in the Perth CBD
Malaysian Hawker, 2014 January Top 5 Perth Eats, Wembley
Mini Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Sweetly Spiced, Perth CBD
Mondo Nougat, Swan Valley
Nao, September 2013 Top Perth 5 Eats, Perth CBD
Newton’s Circle, September 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Perth CBD
Paul’s 4 Provisions, they do an awesome roast gravy roll and roast dinner, Perth CBD
Pony Express O, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger tastebuddy, West Perth
Rosso Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Sweetly Spiced, Perth CBD 
Secret Garden lunch review, Perth CBD
Shots on Lake, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Mahara, Northbridge
Slurp’s, July & August 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Perth CBD
Standing Room Only, 24 days of coffee review, Perth CBD
Tartine Cafe, 24 days of coffee review, Perth CBD
The Belasyse, March Top 5 Perth Eats, Perth CBD
Toastface Grillah, toasties & coffee, Perth CBD
Uncle Joe’s Mess, good for a sit down lunch or take-away coffee, Perth CBD
Urbanistar Cafe, coffee review by guest blogger Mahara, Northbridge
Venn, perfect Friday lunch option (quality has changed a bit – used to be a fav), Perth CBD
Voltage Espresso, 24 days of coffee review by guest blogger Frosty, Perth CBD

degustations

Amuse, I had the most amazing dessert degustation, East Perth
Chefz Table, 2013 October Top 5 Perth Eats, East Perth
No.4 Blake Street, my first French degustation & recommendation for special occasions, North Perth

dessert

Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Scoop Van & Locations, Perth
Icey Ice, specialises in flavoured shaved ice, Perth CBD
Jean Pierre Sancho, French Patisserie – love the macarons not the coffee, Perth CBD
Koko Black salon, chocolate heaven, Claremont (now also in the Perth CBD)
Meet Fresh, best Asian dessert parlour, Northbridge
Pancakes at Carillon, Perth CBD
Scents of Taste, December 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Mount Lawley
Station Street Bakery, April 2014 Top 5 Perth Eats, Subiaco
Superstar Waffles, Northbridge
San Churro, Chocolateria, Hillary’s Boat Harbour & Northbridge

dinner or special occasions

Balthazar, love it here, quality food, presentation and ambience, Perth CBD
Bar One, one of my favs in the CBD for breakfast & lunch, Perth CBD
Beaufort Street Merchant, always packed – book to get a table, Mount Lawley
Bistro Guillaume, 2014 January Top 5 Perth Eats, Burswood
Blu Grill, fine dining presentation at affordable prices, Woodlands
Bread in Common, 2014 January Top 5 Perth Eats, Fremantle
Cantina 663, the pan fried gnocchi is amazing here, Mount Lawley
Clarences, love their restaurant and bar menu – esp their $20 Monday parmi & pint nights, Mount Lawley|
Gordon Street Garage, very cool space -well worth a visit, West Perth
Must Wine Bar, everything is amazing here – service, food, ambience, Mount Lawley
Peasant’s Table, 2013 October Top 5 Eats, Mt Hawthorn
Red Cray, all about the seafood platters, Belmont (now also in Inglewood)
Red Herring, one of my fav fine dining restaurants, celebrated my engagement & birthday here, East Fremantle
Regal on Roe Seafood Restaurant, authentic Chinese food – love the banquets & dim sum, Northbridge
Tony Roma’s, home to Perth’s best ribs, Perth CBD
Table 78, set in an house – food and wine was great, West Perth
The Gala Restaurant, fine dining, lacked ambience and food wasn’t great when I tried it, Applecross
The Partisan, waterfront view, mid-range and fairly casual, East Perth
The Old Crow, October 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Northbridge
The Terrace Hotel, went here for Solerno Blood Orange Liqueur launch lunch, beautiful menu, Perth CBD
The Trustee Bar & Bistro, food is always great here and portion size is generous, Perth CBD

fish & chips

CK’s fish cafe, Landsdale
Fish Bar on the Terrace, North Beach
Swish n Chips, Mount Lawley
The Groper and His Wife, one of the best fish & chips in Perth, City Beach

high tea

Rochelle Adonis, a special girls day out, Highgate

home delivery

Pasta Fiesta, casual Italian food, Yokine
Saffron Indian Restaurant
, love the butter chicken here, Inglewood

hot dogs

Run Amuk Hotdogs Unleashed, best hot dogs in WA – go The Punk, Fremantle

indonesian food

Sweet Java, fine Indonesian food, Mount Lawley

italian food

Catalano’s Cafe, casual dining, Victoria Park
Gino’s Spaghetti Bar, casual dining or take-away, Yokine
Jamie’s Italian, the value for money & service is worth the wait – get in line at 5pm though, Perth CBD
La Vela, casual family owned Italian restaurant, Scarborough
Osteria, for really authentic Italian and so affordable – May Top 5 Perth Eats, Nedlands
Sandrino Cafe & Pizzeria, casual dining, Fremantle

korean BBQ

Namoo Korean BBQ, March Top 5 Perth Eats, Perth 
Sinabro, Took Bae Kee, Tong 86
, Korean BBQ, Northbridge

modern asian / fusion

Chilli Orange, modern Asian done right, North Perth
Ria, Leederville Food Safari - Riding Rickshaws, Leederville

japanese food

Aisuru Sushi, Japanese tapas, Northbridge
Ha-Lu, Japanese Tapas, Mount Hawthorn
Hanami, Japanese, Mount Lawley
Fuku, teppanyaki degustation, Mosman Park
Iku Sushi, quirky japanese, dine-in or take-away, Perth CBD
Is Donburi, September 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats, Northbridge
Jun, love the teriyaki chicken set here – my all-time fav Japanese restaurant, Perth CBD
Jaws, Japanese sushi train, Perth CBD
Nine fine foods, Japanese fusion tapas, Northbridge
Nippon Fare, casual Japanese food, Perth CBD
Shiro Izakaya, fine Japanese food, Perth CBD
Sushia Izakaya, March 2014 Top 5 Perth Eats, Perth CBD
Sushi WAWA, family friendly sushi train, Innaloo
Taka’s Kitchen, Japanese, Perth CBD
The Bonsai, Japanese Tapas, Northbridge

jazz clubs

The Jazz Cellar, 100 seat capacity BYO food & drink Friday nights only, Mt Hawthorn
The Laneway Lounge, jazz venue with the most amazing food & cocktails list, Perth CBD

malaysian food

Hawker’s Cuisine, authentic Malaysian food, Northbridge
Hawker’s Delight, April 2014 Top 5 Perth Eats, Subiaco Station Markets
Makan2 Cafe, casual authentic Malaysian food, Victoria Park
Ria, modern Malaysian food, Leederville
Yip Kee, Malaysian food, Maylands 

perth markets, food trucks & stalls

Comido do Sul Brazilian Food Truck, Perth Food Truck Rumble 2014
Delish Ice
, November 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats
Franklin Foodies, January 2014 Top 5 Perth Eats
Marcelita’s Empanadas
, November 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats
Miam Miam, Perth Food Truck Rumble 2014
Mr Drummond’s Food, December 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats 
Mondo Markets
, Inglewood, Saturday mornings in Spring only
Shak Shuka, October 2013 Top 5 Perth Eats
Subiaco Farmers Markets, Subiaco Primary School, Saturday mornings (my favourite Perth market)
The Merrywell Food Truck, Perth Food Truck Rumble 2014
Twilight Markets, Perth Forrest Chase, Friday nights during Summer

mexican food

Casa Mexicana – El Compa , my favourite Mexican restaurant in Perth, Northbridge
Flying Taco, Mexican, North Perth
La Cholita, April 2014 Top 5 Perth Eats, Northbridge
Mad Mex, casual tex mex franchise

pizza

Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar Subiaco, take-away/delivery (we now have our own Crust in Mount Lawley)
Embers, Italian Restaurant, Gooseberry Hills
Pizzaca, I hear they do great coffee and breakfast, Scarborough

polish food

Cracovia Club’s Polish Restaurant Krakowianka, Beechboro

steakhouses

Aldephi Steakhouse, Parmelia Hilton, Perth
Hippo Creek, African, Subiaco 

tapas

Amphoras Bar, my fav restaurant to go for tapas, West Perth
Amani Wine Bar, quality food but no dessert options last time I went,Leederville
Andaluz Bar & Tapas, Perth CBD
Duende for tapas, Leederville

thai food

King & I, Guildford
Ploy Thai, authentic casual Thai dine-in / take-away & delivery - burger boy and I’s favourite for Thai, Maylands
Royal Thai, authentic casual Thai dine-in / take-away, Mount Hawthorn
Thai Gourmet Cafe, Northbridge

vietnamese food

Lido, Northbridge
Little Saigon, Mount Lawley
Mama Tran, my go-to place for Vietnamese if my mum isn’t cooking, Perth CBD
Sunshine Cafe, Vietnamese lunch bar, Mount Lawley
U & I Cafe 24hr Pho, not a fan but it’s open all hours, Northbridge

If any of the above links don’t happen to work, I would love to know so I can fix it :) please contact me. You can also find reviews using the search function on my homepage.

Share this blog post

  2 comments for “Perth restaurant, cafe & bar reviews

  1. Andrea Pereira
    January 31, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Hi

    I am a huge fan of your blog!

    I have a nice little indian restaurant that I know you might like and would love to see a review of it.

    Its called Samson Jolly Good Indian Restaurant (cheesy name i know) and its located just off Apsley Rd in Willeton, South of the River.

    It is ridiculously cheap with well proportioned food. It is run by a family with their children playing waiters and waitress’s.
    :)

    • February 4, 2012 at 1:19 am

      Thanks Andrea – burger boy loves Indian. When we get a break from our new Crust Pizza & are in the area – we’ll swing by.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge